U.S. President Donald Trump signed a new executive order temporarily barring immigration from six Muslim-majority countries, the White House announced on Monday.

Mr. Trump signed a similar order in January that was met with legal challenges, preventing the order from being enforced .

The new executive order will impose a 90-day ban on the issuance of new visas for citizens of Iran, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Somalia, and Sudan. It will also bar refugees from entering the country for 120 days and will cap the annual refugee intake to 50,000, down from former President Obama’s 110,000 limit.

The January executive order included Iraq on its list of affected countries, but was excluded from the revised ban.

According to the White House, Iraq was excluded because its government had agreed to “increase cooperation with the U.S. government on the vetting of its citizens applying for a visa to travel to the United States.” The Washington Post reports that a Department of Homeland Security official revealed that Iraq also agreed to repatriate its citizens if they were ordered to be deported from the U.S.

Unlike the first travel ban, the new order will permit citizens of the affected countries with either U.S. visas or legal permanent resident status to enter the country without restrictions. Individuals who have already been granted refugee and/or asylum status will also be able to enter the country.

The order will take effect on March 16.

U.S. President Donald Trump signs executive order restricting immigration

You may also like

Read Next

Trending Now

For comments view this content on the regular site.