The Electoral Commission of Ghana has disqualified thirteen presidential candidates from contesting this year’s elections.

The body qualified four candidates.

The EC Chairman, Charlotte Osei, on Tuesday in Accra named the qualified candidates as John Mahama of the governing National Democratic Congress, Nana Akufo-Addo of the main opposition New Patriotic Party, Ivor Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party, and Jacob Osei-Yeboah, an independent candidate.

She said that the nominees have been excluded from the 2016 race as presidential candidates for violating various aspects of the electoral laws of Ghana.

Osei added that the reasons include fraudulent signatures, absence of required number of signatures, and improper filling of nomination forms.

She added that some of the fraudulent information provided by the nominees would be followed up by the police for possible arrest and prosecution.

Ghana goes to the polls on Dec. 7 to elect a president and 275 Members of Parliament.

Ghanaian Presiden MahamaGhanaian President John Dramani Mahama

You may also like

Read Next

For comments view this content on the regular site.