Ibrahim Magu, acting chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), says the British government has helped the agency in “touching the untouchables” in its drive to purge Nigeria of corruption.

EFCC Chairman Magu Meeting with members of British delgation to Nigeria

Magu made the statement on Wednesday while receiving a delegation from the United Kingdom under the aegis of Parliamentary Committee on International Development, who were on a visit to the commission’s head office in Abuja.

“Going down the memory lane, Magu pointed out that, the first funds received by the commission was actually gotten from the British government and that the fund was instrumental in the building of the EFCC Academy,” read a statement issued by Wilson Uwujaren, EFCC spokesman.” 

According to him, it was because of the unwavering support of the UK that other countries were encouraged to come and partner with the EFCC.

The anti-graft czar added that the British government’s support gave the commission the courage to touch the untouchables in Nigeria.

“While commending President Buhari for his political will in fighting corruption, Magu also expressed delight over the commission’s relationships with other countries in Africa and beyond which he said had made it almost impossible for corrupt element to escape justice.

“The EFCC boss however solicited more support in the area of capacit- building in order to be abreast of the modern trends in investigation of corruption cases.” Speaking earlier, the leader of the delegation, Stephen Twigg, “expressed satisfaction over the activities of the commission in the fight against corruption and encouraged it to be steadfast in its vision to make Nigeria a corrupt free nation”.

“Twigg said that they were in the commission to find out how they can be of help and to have a spot assessment of the ongoing project at the permanent site of the EFCC,” read the statement.  

On the visit were Jeremy Lefroy, member of the parliament for Stafford Constituency; Wendy Morton,  member of parliament for Aldridge Brownhills; Viendra Sharma, member of parliament for Ealing Southall; Helen Pruant MP, Dr Lisa Cameron MP, Albert Owen MP and Steven Ayres.

You may also like

Read Next

Trending Now

For comments view this content on the regular site.