Senator Saraki of the All Progressive Congress (APC) was elected by 57 of the 108 Senators as President of the 8th Senate.

The election was carried out while 51 senators, including Bola Tinubu’s preferred candidate Senator Ahmed Lawan, were attending a meeting to discuss strategies to unite APC factions around leadership for the National Assembly. The meeting, which took place at the International Conference Center in Abuja, included President Buhari and Vice President Osinbajo.

On Wednesday, Senator President Bukola Saraki from Kwara State, took the Oath of Office and Allegiance during a rushed ceremony at the National Assembly chambers.

The Senators arrived in the chamber early so that the Senate President could formally swear them in.

After the proceeding of Tuesday's legislative day were adopted, each Senator took their oaths separately by reading them aloud and putting down their signatures. Protocol dictates that after each of the Senators take their Oaths they present a copy of their certificate to the Senate President, Sakari, and then shake hands with him.

Each Senator followed the protocol expect Senator Oluremi Tinubu of Lagos Central, the wife of Bola Tinubu. She refused to shake Saraki's hand, promptly showed him her certificate, and proceeded to walk out.

As a consequence of Saraki's rushed election the Lagos State chapter of the APC has been pursuing an evaluation of the 8th Senate Presidency Election from the National Leadership of the Party.

They hope the actions of Senate President Saraki, the Speaker of the House of Representative, Yakubu Dogara will be punished because of anti-Party actions, according to reports.

APC hopes to reestablish discipline in the Party and issue all mandatory sanctions.

In a statement released by Lagos APC's publicity secretary, Mr. Joe Igboke, said "the purported election of Senator Saraki and Dogara as the Senate President and Speaker respectively, is a clear transgression of both the tenets of democracy and Party politics.

"The APC must come down strongly to mete out sanctions and punishments against treacherous members that perpetrated this ugly charade."

"We see the clear road to enforce discipline in the treacherous conduct of some members of the National Assembly."

"It is certain that these betrayers are not members of the APC and we feel the Party must weigh in now and discipline these betrayers."

A statement issued on Tuesday, by the Party's National Publicity Secretary, Lai Mohammed, said: Senator Bukola and Hon. Dogara are not the candidates of the APC and a majority of its National Assembly members-elect for the positions of Senate President and House Speaker.

You may also like

Read Next

For comments view this content on the regular site.